Posing As An Adult: The Wires That Bind Us

November 22, 2012

Philosophy, Politics

I am a phone game junkie. I came a little late to the party on “Angry Birds,” but I immersed myself quickly; then there’s “Words With Friends,” “Scramble With Friends” and “Hanging With Friends,” not to mention “Song Pop” and anything else word-related that I can find.

I would say, of these games, I know about 20% of the people against whom I’m playing. My niece, who’s 10, and my nephew, who’s 5, will seriously wrestle me over my phone to play “Song Pop,” because they don’t have that app on their Nook. For you newbies, “Song Pop” is an application for the phone that is basically like “Guess the Song.” I’m like Rain Man at it; however, my niece and nephew feel that since it’s an app that they don’t have, they will do really well at it, like “Just Dance” on the Wii, at which I’m horrible, yet is a source of amusement for them.

I guess that my point is that these games, Facebook apps and all the other stuff link us, more than likely to people we don’t know, yet we feel connected to them in some way – even though we’re not, really. This election, I think, taught me most of all, that a.) I am glad that I have the restraint not to air my unvarnished opinions; and b.) I’m glad that I know proper grammar…Just sayin’, the animosity surrounding this election reached a sort of fever pitch which I wasn’t quite expecting, and for the first time, I restrained myself. Maybe it was because I didn’t really have a dog in the fight, but I would like to think that it had more to do with my using common sense than anything else.

Two friends of mine on Facebook said the following, to which I did not respond:

Friend A. “How could you be a Christian and support Barack Obama? HOW? HOW?”

Friend B:” I would like to take a minute to tell you what Barack Obama really stands for, because I think some people don’t really know.”

First things first: I did not vote in this election. And before you tell me that I have no business commenting on our country, take a breath. I didn’t vote, because if I had, I would have voted for Gary Johnson, the Libertarian candidate, which, in Alabama, would’ve meant nothing. I couldn’t vote for Romney, because I think he’s too easily moved, and I couldn’t vote for Obama, because he let me down, and so I consciously made a decision not to vote, and yet, according to the Constitution, I still get to comment on the government, and I do have a say. I have voted Democratic since I was 18, and for the record, supporting Obama, as I did in 2004, doesn’t make me less of a Christian. Next, if Friend B had been able to articulate her point beyond the usual conservative threats, it may’ve been more effective. But I would like to float the crazy idea that you can be a Christian AND a Democrat. Trust me – I’ve done it for 20 years.

Emily Gaither Smith is a former resident of Columbus, and now lives in Albertville, Alabama with her husband. 

 

 

, , , , , , , ,

About The Real Story

The Real Story for the Golden Triangle and North Mississippi. Always the truth... No Compromise. Changing the community one story at a time! You make the news... We keep it Real.

View all posts by The Real Story

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

What is your opinion?

