Monday Morning Water Cooler Talk for Nov.19, 2012 – A Thankful Thanksgiving

The Thanksgiving week is upon us and hopefully everyone will take the time to really sit down and count their blessings. The holidays can be a maddening time and the true meaning of everything can get lost in the fray – especially when people are trying to cook dinner, appease relatives and prepare enough food to feed an army.

2012 has been crazy in a lot of ways. We have had a presidential election that has been as divisive as any that we have seen since, perhaps, JFK. We have seen attacks on our people abroad and, as we speak, Israel and Gaza are moving closer to a full-scale war.

And for all the good we have accomplished over the last few decades, race is at the forefront more than it has been in years.  Some people will always be race-conscious. Others will just be flat-out racist, while the rest will try to stay on neutral ground.

But, what is really needed is an open dialogue. From what happened at Ole Miss after the election, to states trying to secede, to other people just being mad, the only real answer is communication.

The truth is if gas was 50 cents a gallon, the world was at peace and everyone had the job of their dreams, some people would still be racist. Because racists of all colors are ignorant and stupid is free, is why we have so much of it.

That is why it is important that we talk about race with intellect and not race bait. The cold, hard reality is that most race-baiters do it because they have limited IQs. So, instead of making a legitimate case for their argument, they immediately bring up race without having an open dialogue.

Whether these people are white or black, there is no need to talk to them. A limited IQ and hate cannot be reconciled. But, for the people who do love our country, race should be an important issue. It should be addressed with dignity and openness. There is already enough ignorance in the world.

On a side note, it has been exciting to read the comments on our website, over the last few weeks. Some have been rough and some have been a little crazy. However, it is better than not talking at all. The Real Story encourages everyone to offer their opinion. And as for Big Daddy Mojo, he is going to be okay. He always is.

Oh – one other thing: if you’re going to insult our old print edition or the website, please take a few moments to read it. If you do, you will see that we whipped plenty of butts, not just those on the Columbus City Council. Heaven knows the CCVB, the Supervisors and Hotdonia have all been hot at us, at one time or another. And that’s okay!

In the meantime, I would like to give a giant shout out to one of our writers, Abby Hathorn. She is now also writing and doing style photo shoots for Town and Gown magazine. She helped with our Thanksgiving photo spread and has always been a complete professional. She is a shining star.

As for me, what I am most thankful for are my dear friends and family.  Without them, my life would be empty. I have had such a wonderful experience in Columbus that even the bad times are good. I thank God every day for the wonderful friends and supporters, I have. Through the good and bad times, my friends and family have been there.

A perfect example took place this past Sunday. For the 1000th time, I locked my keys in my truck. But, this time, I was out of town. I called my dear friend and locksmith, Tom Cole, to save the day again – and, he did.

Even though I was out of town, he found me a locksmith in the area and quality service. He was there as he always is there for me. Like so many others have been there for me.  And for that I am thankful.

As I hit the road on my way back home, the Joe Cocker song, “With a Little Help from my Friends,” played over my iPod and I thought that it was perfect timing. And, so true. So, I end my thankfulness message with the words of Lennon and McCartney, as sung by Cocker:

What would you think if I sang out of tune,
Would you stand up and walk out on me?
Lend me your ears and I’ll sing you a song
And I’ll try not to sing out of key.

Oh, I get by with a little help from my friends
Mm, I get high with a little help from my friends
Mm, gonna try with a little help from my friends

What do I do when my love is away
(Does it worry you to be alone?)
How do I feel by the end of the day,
(Are you sad because you’re on your own?)

No, I get by with a little help from my friends
Mm, I get high with a little help from my friends
Mm, gonna try with a little help from my friends

Do you need anybody
I need somebody to love
Could it be anybody
I want somebody to love.

Would you believe in a love at first sight
Yes, I’m certain that it happens all the time
What do you see when you turn out the light
I can’t tell you but I know it’s mine,

Oh, I get by with a little help from my friends
Mm, I get high with a little help from my friends
Mm, gonna try with a little help from my friends

Do you need anybody
I just need someone to love
Could it be anybody
I want somebody to love.

Oh, I get by with a little help from my friends
With a little help from my friends.

It doesn’t get any better than that!

MoJo

, , , , , , , , , , ,

About The Real Story

The Real Story for the Golden Triangle and North Mississippi. Always the truth... No Compromise. Changing the community one story at a time! You make the news... We keep it Real.

View all posts by The Real Story

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

What is your opinion?

