MSU Softball’s McMichael Honored As SEC Great

Arguably one of the most-heralded players in Mississippi State softball history, Iyhia McMichael has been selected as part of the 2012 class of Southeastern Conference Greats. McMichael will be honored Thursday, March 1,  at 2:30 p.m., at the SEC Women’s Basketball Tournament at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn. The ceremony will take place during halftime of Mississippi State’s first-round game against Vanderbilt.

“Iyhia was a force to be reckoned with because she was a five-tool player in every sense of the phrase,” head coach Vann Stuedeman said. “She was one of the greatest softball players to ever don a Maroon and White jersey, and will always be remembered for her exceptional talent and pure athleticism.”

McMichael earned a pair of First-Team All-America accolades, while helping the Bulldogs to three straight NCAA Regionals from 2002-04 and was the first player to earn consecutive SEC Player of the Year accolades. The Nacogdoches, Texas, native was named one of three finalists for USA Softball Player of the Year in 2004, a year after making the Top 10. To this day, McMichael holds single-season school records for runs scored (83 in 2004), home runs (18 in 2004), slugging percentage (.836 in 2004), stolen-base percentage (.97 in 2003) and walks (51 in 2004). On the career list, she ranks second in RBI, home runs and walks.

“The SEC Greats program showcases the extraordinary talent these women have brought to athletics in the Southeastern Conference,” SEC Commissioner Mike Slive said. “These women set the precedent for the athletes you see today. It is an honor for us to acknowledge their contributions, both on and off the athletic field.”

The 2012 class includes: McMichael, Chamique Holdsclaw, Tennessee (Basketball); Kelly Kretschman, Alabama (Softball); Sytia Messer, Arkansas (Basketball); Laticia Morris, Auburn (Basketball); Cassie Macia, Florida (Basketball); Camille Lowe, Georgia (Basketball); Valerie McGovern Young, Kentucky (Track); Yvette Girouard, LSU (Softball); Yolanda Moore, Ole Miss (Basketball); Jocelyn Penn, South Carolina (Basketball) and Carolyn Peck, Vanderbilt (Basketball).

Each honoree will be recognized during halftime of her team’s first game of the tournament and all 12 individuals will be honored as a group between games of the second session on Friday, March 2. The Greats will then participate in an autograph session on the concourse before game eight. Complimentary posters of the Greats will be available at the session.

Special to The Real Story

, , , , , ,

About The Real Story

The Real Story for the Golden Triangle and North Mississippi. Always the truth... No Compromise. Changing the community one story at a time! You make the news... We keep it Real.

View all posts by The Real Story


Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

What is your opinion?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: