From My Table To Yours – January 12, 2011

From My Table To Yours

by Fran Andresen

Before we get started this week, I want to take a moment to thank Katherine Murray for your comment on my last recipe. Yes ma’am, I did mean to put sugar-free gelatin and completely forgot it. I rely on our readers to keep me straight when I forget something and help me to make these recipes the very best they can be. As for using fresh pears and cherries, I have tried that before, and the salad did not hold together as it should. I’m not sure if it is the effect the coke had on the pears or what, but I tried making the salad with fresh fruit twice, and the results were the same — mushy fruit and weepy gelatin. The salad tastes much better and remains together longer if you use canned cherries and pears (packed in their own juices).

As we progress into 2012, I have been placed in a position to re-evaluate all of my recipes, so they are easier and safer for a person in kidney failure to eat. Some of the things I mention will make you scratch your head, just as I did when I read the list of foods my husband is allowed and not allowed to eat.  A couple — just off the top of my head — is to eat plain white bread, if he really wants bread, or a sandwich… and crackers aren’t any better. I will be using margarine instead of butter and will be avoiding dairy products as much as possible.

With that said, we are going to start with a favorite breakfast burrito recipe that my husband enjoys often. It is great for a change and gives him a good, hearty breakfast with many options for change.

Breakfast Burrito

Breakfast Burrito

BREAKFAST BURRITO

2 Large Eggs

2 T. Water (remember, no milk if possible)

1/4 of small Onion (chopped fine)

Small amount chopped bell pepper (optional)

1/2 tsp Dry Ground Mustard

2 Med. Flour Tortillas

Spray Margarine (optional)

Take the first 5 ingredients, place in bowl and mix well. Spray your skillet with cooking spray and put on medium heat, then pour egg mixture in skillet. Stir the egg mixture frequently. While your eggs are cooking, place your tortillas in the microwave for about 1 minute. Remember, every microwave is different, so watch your tortillas so they don’t overheat. If you would like, spray your warm tortillas with the spray margarine, then place half of the egg mixture on each tortilla and fold in burrito style.

There are many variations for this recipe. You can add cheese, bacon, any meat of choice, and/or tomato; your choices are limited only by your imagination. Eat up and enjoy!

Thanks for dropping by to chat with me today. Next week, don’t forget a cup o’ your favorite brew, and we will talk about another dish to enjoy, to prove that healthy can taste good too. If you have any questions or suggestions, you can E-mail me at andresenfran@gmail.com. If I don’t have an answer, I will find somebody who does, and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About The Real Story

The Real Story for the Golden Triangle and North Mississippi. Always the truth... No Compromise. Changing the community one story at a time! You make the news... We keep it Real.

View all posts by The Real Story

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “From My Table To Yours – January 12, 2011”

  1. Ron Parlato Says:

    For Katherine Murray – I hope you can enroll in my theatre course at the LEP/MUW. It is Mondays at 9:30. I know you left a comment regarding the article on me in THE REAL STORY print edition.

    Regards,

    RON PARLATO

    Reply

What is your opinion?

