From My Table To Yours – December 20, 2011

December 20, 2011

Columbus, MS, Food, Lifestyles

FROM MY TABLE TO YOURS

by

Fran Andresen

Meat Loaf

Meat Loaf

The holidays are racing at us at lightning speed, so it is always good to have an easy dish that we can prepare ahead of time that is good as sandwiches or with a meal. After many phone calls and requests this week, I am going to share my meatloaf recipe with you all. This is a recipe that my aunt taught me many years ago; all I can say is that 45 years down the road, it is still a favorite.

I do want to explain that my family is not real big on ketchup, so I use it very sparingly on the top of the meatloaf — that is what caused the cracking appearance on the top of the picture of the meatloaf that you see. I will give instructions using more ketchup on top, so your meatloaf won’t look like the one pictured.

MEATLOAF

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

1 to 1 1/2 lbs ground turkey (a good quality beef can be used also)

24 soda crackers, crushed

1 med. onion, chopped

1/4 bell pepper, chopped

1 can chicken noodle soup

1 egg

Mix all ingredients well and place in a baking dish.

3/4 cup reduced sugar ketchup

1 T. brown sugar substitute

1 T. powdered mustard

Combine all ingredients, making sure all lumps of sugar and mustard are broken up. Spread the ketchup mixture over the meat mixture, covering all sides.

Bake in a 350 degree oven for about 45 minutes. Take out of oven and let rest for about 15 minutes before you cut it. Now enjoy!!

Thanks for dropping by to chat with me today. Next week don’t forget your cup o’ your favorite brew, and we will talk about another dish to enjoy and prove healthy can taste good too. If you have any questions or suggestions, you can E-mail me at franandresen@live.com. If I don’t have an answer, I will find somebody who does, and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About The Real Story

The Real Story for the Golden Triangle and North Mississippi. Always the truth... No Compromise. Changing the community one story at a time! You make the news... We keep it Real.

View all posts by The Real Story

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

What is your opinion?

